Showing posts with label #review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label #review. Show all posts

Monday, 20 March 2017

Nintendo Plush // Mario

We are all massive Nintendo fans and both Jon and I grew up playing the SNES and NES, which we still play on and we also are both pretty addicted to our DS's.

Noah is our new Nintendo geek and is dropping daily hints that he wants to get the new Nintendo Switch!
Jon is also pretty eager to add it to his Nintendo collection.

So when I was asked if I wanted to do a mini review on the brand new Nintendo plushes from Jakks  I jumped at the chance.


Jakks do a whole range of the Nintendo plushes including Mario, Luigi, Yoshi and Princess Peach.
They are all rather cute and great for kids and collectors alike.
Super soft and would make ideal presents.

Noah was over the moon with his Mario, and as soon as he was out the packaging he ran into his room to hide it from the others!

I managed to sneak him away for Mario to have a little photoshoot / a trip down memory lane with all our old school consoles.


The plushes cost £9.99 and you can find them over on amazon.

\

The release of these brand new plushes ties in very nicely with the launch of the Nintendo Switch, which is out now!




VR Insane Pop 360

A new British brand, VR Insane™, have developed an amazing new virtual reality (VR) headset designed for kids and adults alike.

The POP360 VR headset is ultra-comfortable, lightweight (only 200g) and highly portable.  Made from a soft silicon rubber (similar to the feel of a snorkel mask), it collapses down to only 40mm, enabling compact storage inside the included hard-shell travel case.

VR Insane™ also offer 2 free apps with the POP360.  Available for iOS (Apple) and Android devices, POP360 owners can download the VR Insane™ app and VR Insane™ Kids app by scanning the QR code supplied with the headset.


Richard , Director at VR Insane™ commented “We’ve spent a lot of time and effort developing the right headset and app bundle for the market; we see our product as an easy, family-friendly introduction to the world of virtual reality.  
Our apps offer a library of what we believe to be the best VR videos out there and provide users with quick and immersive light entertainment.”
Regarding the recent release of the VR Insane™ Kids app, added “We have seen the enthusiasm kids have for VR.  

They love jumping into the Jungle Book or surrounding themselves in a world of virtual dinosaurs. 
It was natural for us to develop a dedicated app for kids to enjoy.”




Suitable for smartphones with a 4.5”-6” screen size, the POP360 has a top-mounted touchscreen button (Google Cardboard II compatible) for interacting with your content. This means you have control (play/pause etc) over your videos and interactivity (shoot/move) with your games, without the need to take off your headset. 
With a wide 96 field-of-view and suitable for use with glasses, the POP360 is available now from a variety of global retailers and www.vrinsane.com for £19.99.


Noah has been begging me to get him a VR headset, and I have always said no as I thought they were over priced and on occasion I'm pretty mean lol.

When I heard about VRinsane's new POP360 headset I asked them very nicely if we could try out a headset, the guys were awesome and said of course.

The headset is very reasonably priced at £19.99 and would make the perfect present for any boy whose into his gadgets.

Noah pretty much flipped out when he saw the box on the table!
After we installed all the right apps on my phone, he popped it into the headset and sat their shouting OMG THIS IS AMAZING!

I had to see what all the fuss was about, and actually it was pretty amazing!
Noah had to fight me off it, as I was enjoying trying out all the different videos that the app had to offer.

The headset can be adjusted to fit most head sizes, and I can ever wear it with my glasses, though I felt better wearing it without them on.

Both the adult and kid app are great and have a good range of different videos, which update constantly. So you'll never run short of watching something different!

Noah gives the POP360 headset 10/10.



Monday, 6 March 2017

Blaze and The Monster Machines Light & Launch Hyper Loop Play-set Review


Light & Launch Hyper Loop is a blaze and the monster machines track set that includes a vehicle launcher that spins in a 360-degree loop, sending blaze through 9 different stunt combinations and racing through the finish line!


If Ru isn't watching Blaze on Nickelodeon he's watching it on his iPad.
So when asked if we wanted to try out the Light & Loop Hyper Launch I knew I had to say yes.
Anything that lights up and launches cars into the air is always going to be a winner with Ru and when its a character that he loves its going to be a double winner!

The playset comes in pieces but its pretty simple to put together and most part just click together.
It took me about 5 minutes to build. Ru strangely enough was rather patient and sat watching and trying to help out.


Key Features:

·         Place Blaze in the Hyper Loop and charge it up using the lever to activate the Speed Lights
·         Press the release button and the Hyper Loop whips Blaze into an awesome 360-degree rotation and sends him blazing down the track
·         Move the towers to different points on the playset for 9 different combinations

Suitable for ages 3+


As soon as it was built Rupert was eager to get playing.
Once I had shown him how to turn the wheel, he was happily able to do it all on his own.
He loved watching Blaze fly through the sky.

Ru experimented with the different ramp positions to see what the different results would be, but he preferred it when the ramp was down and Blaze could do a little jump off it.

Ru being the dare devil that he is, had the play-set on the edge of the kitchen table and got Blaze to really fly off the end, he flew so fast he nearly reached the sofa!
I don't think I've ever heard him laugh so hard!

When the twins got home from school, Ru showed them how to operate it and they were very impressed with it, lining up to take turns in pressing the launch button.
Oscar liked lighting up the lights and Alex ever lined a few cars at the end of the run way for Blaze to jump over.
Blaze managed at least 5 cars!



Your child can also attach the light & launch hyper loop to the tunnels that come with any of light rider vehicles, as well as other blaze playsets and accessories. 
Each sold separately and subject to availability. 
You can buy the Light & Launch play-set from Argos for £24.99
It would make a fantastic birthday present, or even a special present for when your child has done something special.


Friday, 16 December 2016

Keeping Those Pesky Nits At Bay With Kit & Coco

Nits aren't the thing you look forward to your child bringing home from school, but it does happen and its not the worst thing that could happen!

So far my boys haven't had nits but I know its only a matter of time before it happens.
We keep getting the warning letters from school and I keep an eye on their heads.

We were recently sent the full range of Kit & Coco treatment and protect range.

Launched earlier this year, Kit & Coco’s haircare is enriched with coconut oil which is naturally hydrating, nourishing and soothing. 
When massaged in, it both strengthens hair fibers and soothes irritations of the scalp, leaving hair even softer and shinier than before. 
But that’s not all! Coconut oil has a bonus quality: it is an active participant in the treatment of head lice!


I love the packaging, its fun and fresh. 
Nothing to clinical here!
When the boys saw it, they had no idea what it was for but wanted to try it out straight away.
Seeing as we haven't had nits yet we haven't used the treatments but the boys all love me combing their hair with the nit comb!

The products are made with coconut oil - is there nothing that magical oil can't solve!?
No Insecticides, parabens, alcohol or silicone are use.


First up is Kit & Coco Protective Mousse
Which helps keep nits at bay!
This mousse helps keep your little one protected for up to 24hrs!
I've used this on the boys (minus ru, as its not suited for under 3s) and they all loved me using it on them!
A bottle of this costs £10.75 for 75ml


Handy to have incase the pesky nits decide to visit again, or you have a large family like myself!
This pack will cost £10.75
The pack consists of 4 treatments!
Can be used on children from as young as 6 months!


The kit contains 4 treatments
a nit comb,
an applicator brush,
a protective shower cap,
and a very cool surprise!

The boys love the nit comb, so when it comes to treating nits I know they will have no issue with me combing this through their hair!

The pack will cost you £15.75.






Last but not least 

Spray the formula on hair and on the hairband or any fabric (T-shirts, shirt collars, hats, scarves...) to keep head lice at bay!
I can't really see the boys taking to using the hairband, but I know I will!
This bottle costs £10.75 for 75ml


I'm ready for you nits, come and get us!!!!


Jamie Webb, founder of KIT & COCO has some helpful tips to keep those Nits at bay......

How to PROTECT little heads

1.       Keep long hair tied up
Head lice don’t have wings, nor can they fly or hop from head to head.  The only way head lice can be passed on is through head to head contact; whether this is during playground games, selfies, sharing hairbrushes, or even when two hats or scarves touch on the communal coat rack.  Even when detached from the hair, the critters can live between 12 – 24 hours. Keeping your little one’s hair tied up in a ponytail, plait or bun is a great start to preventing head lice. 

2.       Use a protective spray or mousse
Free from alcohol, parabens, silicone and insecticides, KIT & COCO’s gentle protective mousse and spray provide 24 hour protection against lice.  Perfect for school time or sleepovers, families can opt for the mousse or hair spray with a fashionable head band to ensure hydration and protection. 

HOW TO FREE little heads from lice and nits

1.       Identify the critters
Although itching is the first symptom, only 30% of children are aware of an infestation so it’s worth carrying out a full hair inspection under good lighting on a regular basis.  Nits (the eggs) and head lice especially like the nape of the neck and behind the ears as these are the warmest parts of the head.  Nits are easier to spot than lice, which are speedy little critters and the best way to make a correct diagnosis is by using KIT & COCO’s ultra-efficient fine toothed comb! 

2.       Act fast
Lice can produce around 10 eggs a day which take around seven days to hatch so one small problem can escalate into a larger issue very quickly!  Our KIT COCO complete treatment kit includes everything you need to combat head lice and nits from treatment shampoo to a gentle ergonomic nit comb, applicator brush, protective shower cap as well as surprise treat for little ones! 
Here at KIT & COCO, we’ve harnessed the unique qualities of coconut oil and rich botanic oil to deliver gentle yet effective prevention and treatment for head lice and nits.  As head lice are constantly adapting to create a resistance to Pediculicides (chemical based insecticides), KIT COCO has utilised plant based active ingredients – to totally eliminate head lice and nits (eggs) through asphyxiation, which head lice simply can’t develop any resistance to.  The treatment range utilises the fatty acids from coconut oil to clog the respiratory system of head lice to banish those little pests for good.  
Our 45-minute treatment is proven to be 100% effective against lice and nits, find out more here:http://uk.kitandcoco.com/kit-coco-proven-efficacy
The KIT COCO range is available to buy online at KIT & COCO, Amazon and  independent pharmacies nationwide

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Christmas Gift Ideas With Leap Frog.


Last Christmas we bought the twins Leap Pads and Ru a read with me scout.
They were there favourite presents and they really enjoyed playing with them.
There still going strong today.

So when Leap Frog got in touch and asked if I wanted to review a few things for a Christmas gift guide I was more than happy to say yes!

They really spoilt the boys by sending them
The Leap TV set up,



The twins have been asking for watches for what seems like forever and we've never really found any that we though would be right for them.
So when reading about the Leap Bands I was impressed and questioned myself to why I hadn't thought about looking at them before.

The twins loved them as soon as they saw them in the boxes.
They were desperate for me to get them out and put them onto their wrists.


Leap Bands
suitable for ages 4 -7.

Features
Audio instructions,
Water resistant,
Rechargeable battery,
Parent controls - set quite times and school mode.

The only activity tracker made for kids that encourages active play and healthy habits with 50 fun challenges!

LeapBand comes preloaded with ten imaginative and active play challenges and four cool-down challenges. Parents can add up to 36 more challenges in LeapFrog Connect, so kids will hear fun activity prompts such as "March like an elephant" or "Wiggle like a bug". LeapBand features parental controls to further personalise the experience, including School and Quiet modes.


You can buy the Leap Band from amazon for £13.50, which is a perfect price for a stocking filler/tree present!


The boys love giving all the activities ago, and I can often find them jumping around the living room like a frog in a desperate bid to earn more jewels.

They are easy to charge and to set up, just connect them to a computer and register them over on Leap Frogs Connect page

You can also download an app to your smart phone - Petathlon Games.
Where you can also connect your leadband and it will keep a track of your rewards and you can also play events such as wind sailing, javelin throw, archery and so on.


Count and Crawl Kitty
suitable for ages 9 - 24 months.

Make counting the cat's meow!
Press keys to explore numbers 1-20 and create music.
Bat Kitty's ball of wool or push along for more mew-sical fun.


The kitty is nice and colourful and will catch the eye of any baby.
Ru is older than the recommended age, but he has loved playing with it and I often hear him repeating the numbers and songs that the toy says.
It's helping him with his speech and he loves playing with it.


You can buy count and crawl kitty from Amazon for £10.90.

Leap TV
suitable for ages 3 - 8

The LeapTV system puts learning into motion in three ways:
body capture motion, pointer play and classic controller action.

In the box you get one multi purpose controller, console, console stand, camera stand, motion sensing  camera, HDMI cable, AC power adapter.
You receive a free bonus customisable Pet Play World game with LeapTV registration.

I bought the boys an extra controller and a Spider-Man game off amazon.
The spare controller was £15.50 and the game was £9.99


The twins get envious of Noah playing on his PlayStation so when they saw that they had they're very own console they jumped for joy.

It's relatively easy and quick to set up, so the boys didn't have to wait too long to get going.
They love that they understand what they're meant to do, as rather than have the game instructions written on the screen, it talks to them and tells them what to do.
They are also learning at the same time as playing!


The boys have each pick a pet and love playing games and decorating its home.
Just like on the LeapPad, so because they have already used that they understand what to do on the Leap TV.
The Spider-Man game has been a big hit, even Noah will come and play and help the boys when they get a little stuck.
I can see Santa bringing some new games to fill their stockings!
The Leap TV is aimed at children aged 3-8yrs but its great fun for all the family!

Learning is fun and the leap TV really shows that!


The leap TV kit is currently on sale for only £31.99 rather than £119.99 on the Leap Frog store

Wednesday, 16 November 2016

The Magic Chair - A Personalised Christmas Book // Review and Giveaway

Christmas is in the air.
If you're looking for a special book to share with your little one this year.
Look no further!
The Magic Chair offer just that!


One, two, three.... The magic chair was flying free.

We were kindly allowed to review our very own copy of The Magic Chair ... The Search For Santa.

The story is beautiful and really captures the magic of Christmas.



You get to personalise the character so it suits your little one, and you can ever leave a little message for them on the back.

A brilliant keepsake to look back on in years to come!
Making your own character is really simple and takes no time at all.




Rupert loved his book, and even the twins enjoyed listening to the story.
The magic chair takes your child on an adventure to the North Pole to find Santa.
The illustrations are beautiful and they have every Christmas character you could think of in there,
Snowmen dancing, Rudolph, Santa's elves and of course the main man himself!




The Magic Chair also comes in 3 other adventures,
The Magic Chair - The original book,
Travel Through Time,
Adventures Around The World.


The guys over at Magic Chair have given me the chance to giveaway one book to one of my readers.
If you fancy the chance of winning enter the rafflecopter below.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and conditions;
UK only,
I will give the winner the special code they need to enter at the check out,
If code doesn't work I will happily contact the magic chair and get it sorted.
Only one winner,
giveaway will run for 2 weeks.

Wednesday, 9 November 2016

Sleep Tight All Night Igglepiggle Review

Sleep and Ru do not go together smoothly.
Everything was fine, until he reached two, then something clicked and Ru decided sleep was for the weak!

Most nights he wont fall asleep until 11/12 pm, some nights I'm lucky and he'll pass out around 10ish.
I have tried pretty much every trick in the book as well as crying down the phone to my health visitor for her to have some magically answer to fix it all.

Obviously she doesn't and can only tell me tricks that I already know!

So when I was offered a Sleep Tight All Night Igglepiggle, which promises the answer to a good night's sleep I was more than happy to give it ago!


Sleep Tight All Night is a versatile 4 in 1 product that has been specially designed to help teach children when to sleep and when it's time to get up - aiding the transition from cot to bed. It offers a unique sleep aid system that has been based on scientific studies relating to the colours associated with inhibiting and encouraging sleep.
Also fully adaptable for daytime play and an ideal travel companion, this innovative new product will become a must have for parents whilst offering a fun solution for children to enjoy.
With a range of soothing sounds and a glowing light this soft huggable toy will provide comfort and reassurance to little ones at bedtime with just a squeeze of the tummy.


How it works…

1. Timer. Set the timer for the duration you would ideally like your child to sleep; with a full nights sleep or just a quick nap
2. Sleep Bedtime – A gentle squeeze of the tummy will help your child get to sleep, using soothing sounds and red glowing light. The red light indicates to your child that it’s still night time
3. Awake during the night? A tummy squeeze will help comfort your child using soothing sounds and red glowing light
4. Wake. When the tummy is squeezed after the pre-set time is reached it will glow green to indicate it’s time to get up Play Time
5. In day mode, squeeze the tummy during the daytime play for fun character phrases.
The sleep aid module that fits neatly within the body of Igglepiggle has the following features sleep mode with timer

 Parental lock to ensure little ones are not able to adjust the timer once set! • 2 volume settings


  • A choice of 5 soothing sounds including; falling raindrops, soothing surf, gentle heartbeat, whispering waterfall and comforting crickets. The module can also be set to no sounds, if preferred
  • Day mode Scientifically Proven… Investigations have shown that green wave lengths are beneficial during day light hours because they boost attention and reaction times. However, it has been proven to be most disruptive at night as it reduces that amount of melatonin the body produces and the ability to fall asleep. Red light is the least upsetting to your sight as it preserves night vision. It is the least disruptive to the natural body clock and the production of melatonin.





  • Ru's understanding of things isn't where it should be for a typical 2.5 year old as he is delayed somewhat, so when trying to explain to him that when Igglepiggle's tummy is red he is to stay in bed and when its green he can get up and play.
    I'm sure with time  it will click.
    However has does seem to understand that when Igglepiggle plays his calming ocean sound that it is time for sleep.

     The calming sound of the sea and setting the timer for around 10 hrs (I can dream I know) has worked where other night time soothers have failed.

    Ru has been falling asleep much quicker than usual and loves cuddling up to Igglepiggle, I have heard him wake in the middle of the night and heard him press Igglepiggle's tummy to turn on the ocean sound and then fall back to sleep without me being there.

    His bedtime is slowly but surely getting closer to being 7 pm again rather than 11pm.
    The last few nights he has been fast asleep come 8oclock and not woken until 6 the next day.

    Jon and I are getting our evenings back and I'm getting some decent sleep.
    Of course it doesn't always work and some nights Ru is still rocking around come 10pm but I'm sure its helping and by sticking to the routine his late nights will be something we come to laugh about!



    I wasn't holding out much hope that this would work for Ru, but I'm so happy that it's working some sort of magic on him!
    I'm no longer drowning in coffee and he is much happier during the day, and his tantrum's have subsided a little!

    Where ever we go Igglepiggle is always by his side!


    You can also get Sleep Tight All Night Teddy, Unicorn and Puppy.
    So a teddy to suit any child!

    Prices ranging from £34.99 to £29.99.

    Saturday, 5 November 2016

    Mythical Monster Map || Review and Discount Code

    The Mythical Monster Map is a journey around the world according to local folklore and legend, featuring forty­ five incredible monsters.


    If you're kids are as monster crazy as mine, they'll will love the monster map!
    The monster map shows an array of monsters / legend from across the world and then around the side it tells you all about them!

    Noah thinks the map is amazing and has been studying it since it arrived, and telling me all about the different monsters and his favourite monsters.


    The illustrations are fantastic and really capture the imagination.
    Being monsters you might think it would be too scary for kids, but even the twins (4) enjoy pointing out all the different monsters and asking about them.

    I love that this isn't just your average poster and will give any room a talking feature!




    These detailed posters are printed on quality art paper with a durable laminated finish and make a colourful feature in a bedroom or playroom.

    As our move is just around the corner, the poster is being kept in its tube to protect it, and once we move it will be framed and placed in Noah's new  bedroom.

    The monster poster comes in three choice,
    Mythical Monster Map Laminated Poster – from £22
    Mythical Monster Map Colouring In Poster – from £13.99
    Mythical Monster Glow Map – from £19.99



    The guys over at Maps International have given me a special 10% discount code for my readers to use.
    The discount code can be used on any product not just the monster maps.

    Just use MONSTERS10 when checking out!


    **I was sent the post for free, in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

    Wednesday, 2 November 2016

    Twirlywoos Interactive Musical Chick Soft Toy Review

    Rupert adores The Twirlywoos and always enjoys watching them on Cbeebies.
    So when we heard about the interactive musical Chick I was eager to try him out.


    Super-soft and cuddly, Interactive Musical Chick makes the perfect companion for little ones.
    Press Chickedy's left hands to hear fun phrases and have hours of fun dancing and singing along to 2 tunes from the show, with a gentle squeeze of Chick's right hands.
    The satin cloud on their tummies features soft glowing twinkling lights in pretty rainbow colours. With bendy arms, little ones will have hours of fun recreating Chick’s favourite poses!
    Approx. size 23cm (sitting).
    Suitable for children aged 10 months and over.
    Batteries included.


    Ru instantly fell in love with Chick and couldn't stop kissing and hugging him.
    He loves the satin rainbow on his tummy and I often find him stroking it.

    Ru enjoys dancing along to the theme tune and musical theme, as well as making Chick talk.

    His bendy arms make it super easy to put him into poses, such as holding a pretend cup of tea or waving.

    Chick has quickly become one of Ru's favourite things!


    Chick is gorgeously soft and huggable making him a perfect present for any Twirlywoo fan.


    You can also get an interactive musical Chickedy, you can find both over on the Golden Bear Toy website.
    Both of which are retailing for £24.99.