Showing posts with label #review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label #review. Show all posts

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

Leighton Denny // Nail Elixir

You can't beat nicely painted nails.
Getting them done at the nail salon or doing them yourself at home it gives you that instant pick me up!

Being a mum of four I don't often get a spare moment to pop out to get my nails done, so I often do mine myself.

I was recently sent a some nail goodies from Leighton Denny

and a new polish Viva La Diva.


Normally when I do my nails, I just do them quickly and bypass buffing and undercoats, so it was nice to take the time to actually do it properly.

I cleaned away the chipped varnish that I had on my nails and then buffed them up with the buffer and they came up super shiny.
I nearly left them at that, but was pretty excited about trying out the new Nail Elixir.


Nail Elixir 

A new nail treatment for ridged, ageing nails that lack moisture and smoothness.

Secret ingredients ...

Collagen - helps promote youthful and healthy looking nails.
 Chrono-peptide - strengthens, hydrates and protects.
 Lime-tree extract and citric acid - whitening

How the Experts do it -

Brush two thin layers onto clean, dry nails, and repeat bi-weekly to build up treatment for increased results. 
It can also act as a base for applying colour, and will continue to treat nails during polish wear.

I was very impressed even after I had applied the first coat.
My nails looked 10x healthier and I loved the shine that came off them.

I've been using it as the Leighton Denny experts have suggested and I'm ridiculously in love with the results.


As well as the elixir I have been using this gorgeous Viva La Diva colour,
It's just perfect for summer and instantly brightens up my day when I look down at my nails.
The first time I used it I had a few mums at school point them out and say how much they liked them!

The experts recommend two coats, but I have only been using the one coat and it still gives off an amazing result.

Leighton Denny have a beautiful range of nail varnishes, you can check them out here.
All are very reasonably priced and you're sure to have salon looking nails at the end of your DIY manicure.

Tuesday, 27 June 2017

Tackling Early Morning Wake Up Calls With The Gro Clock

Having twins is great, but having twins does have its downside.
Like when one wakes up at 5am and decides its an awesome idea to get the other one up.
For them to both coming running through shouting and screaming about one thing or another is not so great.


These lovely sunny mornings are lovely but they're a right pain in the bum when the kids don't quite understand it isn't really time to get up.

It's just like when Ana says to Else in Frozen
"The Suns awake, so I'm awake."


So out of desperation I decided to contact the Gro Company and see if I could review their Gro Clock.
I had heard great things from other bloggers and my Sister in Law swears by hers.

They were lovely enough to say yes and sent one out to me straight away.


The Gro Clock;



FEATURES

  • Glowing screen shows images of stars and sun to communicate ‘sleep’ and ‘wake-up’ time
  • Includes fun bedtime story book
  • Stars go out one-by-one during the night to show the passing of time
  • Key-lock option
  • Option to set two separate wake-up times (weekday/weekend or night-time/day-time nap)
  • Adjustable screen brightness
  • Silent operation
  • Optional audible alarm feature
  • Mains powered (adapter included)
  • Suitable from age 2+ years
  • Conforms to highest applicable British and European Standards
  • Educational option of showing digital clock during the ‘stars to sun’ countdown
  • “Mr Star” night time graphic
  • Beautifully illustrated bedtime storybook

The night that it arrived I sat the twins down and explained what it was and what it meant.
They looked at me like I was talking another language, so I told them to listen to the story and hoped they'd understand by the time the story was finished.....

Thankfully it had sunken in and they were ready to prove to me they understood what it meant when the clock was blue and when it was yellow.

I set the clock so that the sun would come up at 7am.
That would leave me to get up at 6.30 and potter around without all the chaos and commotion of having them all up early and it gave me a bit of a lay in too.

Getting up at 5am is no fun, it leaves us all feeling grumpy and miserable for the rest of the day.

To be honest I wasn't 100% sure it would work but I crossed my fingers as I went to bed that night....
To my amazement the boys did stay asleep until 6.30 which is a bit of a record for them and when they came through to my room, I asked them if their special sun had come up to which they replied No. 
So I questioned them ...."what does that mean?!"
 They both replied .... "We should still be in bed"
To which they both went back off to bed and stayed their chatting quietly until the sun had come up.

We've been using the Gro Clock for around two weeks now and they are still waking up before the sun but only by 15 to 10 minutes before the sun is due up. 
They aren't running through to us screaming or shouting as soon as they wake, they just sit in their room quietly and I'm pretty happy with that!

The 5am wake up calls have stopped and we all are 100% happier for it!





"Getting lots of sleep, you see, gives us bags of energy.
So if you want a day of fun,
stay in bed until the sun!"






You can buy the Gro Clock from the Gro Store.

















Monday, 26 June 2017

Hiding From The Sun With Fuzzy-Felt.

Last week was sooo hot that we often found ourselves hiding away indoors.
During one of our hide out sessions we decided to open up the Paw Patrol Fuzzy-Felt pack that we were sent from John Adams


Inside the box you get,
Over 70 assorted felt shapes,
Ideas Leaflet
Felt play board.


Ru loves Paw Patrol and he needed no instructions on what to do with the felt pieces, he instantly started making pictures with the different pieces.



He really enjoyed making different pictures and showing me the end results.

The felt shapes stick nicely to the play board and they're is a nice selection of different pieces to choose from.



Ru spent a good half an hour making up different scenes and chatting away to himself whilst he did so.
Making up little scenes and playing with the Paw Patrol team.


It was the perfect activity to keep Ru entertained whilst we kept him in from the sun for a bit.
The twins have also had a play with it and both enjoyed it as much as Ru did.

We've never had a Fuzzy-Felt toy before, but I certainly will be buying more when looking for Christmas or birthday presents.


Paw Patrol Fuzzy-Felt is suitable for children aged 3-6yrs.
Fuzzy-Felt is one of Britains best loved toys!
You can buy this Paw Patrol Fuzzy-Felt from amazon for £12.99.





Thursday, 22 June 2017

Unboxing // Fred's Box - Mystery Box.


I love subscription boxes and receive a few myself.
It's like a special treat every month and it sure beats opening the same old boring bills.
So when I heard about Fred's Box I was very interested in seeing what was inside one.

All the boys get excited when they see the postman hand me over a box and I always get asked is that for me??

So when Rupert asked if this was for him I said yes and he did a mini happy dance!


We were sent the Mystery box, which is suitable for children ages 3 and up.
Perfect for little Ru bear.


HOW IT WORKS

Fred's Box is the best monthly subscription box for both kids and geeks. 
They can be ordered either as a prepaid one off or monthly box, or a pay monthly rolling subscription.

They have 2 new monthly subscription boxes:

  • The Fred's Mystery Monthly Box this is aimed at children between the ages of 3 and 16 years old. 
  • This is a fun packed box filled with mystery goodies!
  •  It will always include an age appropriate reading book, trading cards, Ooshie (a different one each month), Fred's Box pencil and sticker, 4 x design it yourself postcards plus between 2 and 5 mystery gifts!! This box will still fit through the letterbox so you won't need to be in to receive your goodies! 
  • This also comes as a twins subscription box and is one box with double the goodies. 


A little bit about Fred .....

My name is Fred, I am a 7 year old boy who loves receiving my own post. 
So I set this up in January 2017 (with a bit of help from mummy) to help other children receive exciting post addressed to them.
I enjoy opening up the boxes each month with no idea what is inside, I look forward to it each month.


Ru's face lit up when he saw all the goodies inside.
He didn't know what to pick up first.
He's obviously been watching unboxing videos on Kids Tube as he pretended to read all the instructions to me before picking up the toys.


The hot wheel car was a big hit with him, he's slowly losing interest in his Disney Cars and keeps trying to take the boys hot wheel cars, so when he saw he had his very own one, he put it right in his pocket to make sure no one could claim it as theirs!


Ru loves Disney Tsum Tsum and was please to have some more to add to his ever growing collection.




The blank postcards got put to use once he had finished playing with the Tsum Tsum and Hot Wheel car, he loved the guitar crayons and whilst colouring in he kept telling me they look like Daddy's guitars upstairs.



As you can see our Fred's Box was filled up with lovely goodies.
There wasn't anything that Ru didn't like.
He gave his TMNT cards to the twins as he isn't really into them, but other than that he kept everything for himself.


Ru gives his Fred's Box a big thumbs up!


Fred's Box also do an Ooshie Box;


  • The Ooshie Subscription Box is aimed at everybody over the age of 5! 
  • Ooshies are squishy mini figures of your favourite licensed characters that also double up as pencil toppers. 
  • Within this box you will receive between 2 and 10 Ooshies, a Fred's Box Pencil, a sticker and 2 x design it your self postcards to send to family and friends, or even back to us if you would like to be in with a chance to win some goodies

Monday, 19 June 2017

Frame My Name // Review & Giveaway.

I love anything thats personalised.
So when I heard about Frame My Name I was more than happy to jump at the chance to review a personalised name print.

The only tricky bit was deciding who to get it for.

Noah is too old,
I couldn't get one for one twin and not the other, so by elimination Rupert was the winner on this occasion.


It arrived quickly and was nicely packaged, you could see it was packed extra care to make sure it arrived in one piece.

I love the vibrant colours and it looks perfect in the white frame.

It took a while to pick which design I was going to finally go for, but I'm really happy with the Super Hero design.

It ties in nicely with Ru's new super hero obsession and looks pretty awesome in his room.


Once you have chosen your design, you then have the following options;
  • Child’s first name (up to 11 letters) 
  • Wording line 1 (e.g. child's full name, date of birth etc if required) 
  • Wording line 2 (e.g. personal message or quote if required) 
  • Frame colour – choice of stained or white frame.


Not only was I pleased with it, Ru was too.
He had a smile from ear to ear when he came home from nursery to find it on his wall.

Frame My Name have a great array of designs, they have everything from Circus designs to unicorn designs.
Something for ever taste.


Frame My Name are letting me giveaway not one but two personalised name prints!
All you have to do is to follow the rafflecopter options below.
Good Luck.



T&Cs

Two winners will be picked at random,
Winners will have 48hrs to respond to email before another winner is picked.
Winners details will be sent over to Frame My Name who will then be in touch to sort out getting the print that you want.
Comp will run until the 3rd July 12am.

Monday, 12 June 2017

WWE Power Props


Noah has been a fan of WWE since he was in reception class.
There was no way he going to get away without being a fan. Jon has a love for wrestling that runs deep within his bones, even I grew up watching it and even though I say I don't enjoy it, I know most of the wrestlers and do actually get really into it when we watch RAW.

Noah was introduced to the world of WWE early on and loved it as soon as he saw it.
Jon is always keen to take him to the Live shows whenever possible and is more than happy to sit beside him on the playstation for hours on end and play WWE 2K17.


Now that we live just around the corner from his cousin Sam, another WWE super fan I hear nothing but WWE this and WWE that.
They are both mad about the sport and if they aren't telling each other all the different facts about one wrestler or another they are acting out their favourite finishers on poor innocent teddy bears.

So when I was sent some WWE Power Props I knew I was going to gain some mum points.


We were sent;
and


Dean Ambrose is one of Noah's favourite wrestlers, so the ladder and t-shirt have now become his favourite toy.

Sam and Noah both have had great fun playing with the foam toys.
They are nice and hardy and won't be easily broken, no matter how hard they hit them onto the floor. Nor do they look like that will start to fall apart anytime soon.

They are nicely made to look like the real thing and are really good at helping wrestling fans feel like real life Superstars!



Saturday, 8 April 2017

Baby Annabell's Brother Proving Dolls Aren't Just For Girls


Recently Ru has been taking a keen interest in all the babies that he sees when we're out and about, so when asked if we wanted to review Baby Annabell's Brother, I thought it could be the perfect cure for his baby obsession.


Baby Annabell – the UK’s number one nurturing doll – is an authentic, lifelike baby doll which enables realistic nurturing role play, building a bridge to the real baby world allowing girls to be like their own Mother, this creates a social emotional bond and encourages social skills. 
       Baby Annabell has several exciting new additions to its popular range of dolls and accessories this spring to keep generations of little doll mummies and daddies playing from morning through to night.

Baby Annabell Brother (RRP £54.99)
  Just like his sister, Baby Annabell Brother has lots of realistic functions – and now he wets his nappy too! Love and care for him just like a real baby. 
For ages 3 years and over


Ru took to caring for his new baby straight away, and wanted to give him his bottle and shut his blind so that it was nice and dark for him.
It was lovely to see his kind side shine out for all to see, what I wasn't expecting was all the other boys to take a liking to him.
Oscar was desperate for cuddles, so desperate that he sat right next to Ru and waited patiently.
Something that would never happen normally.


Baby Annabell's brother comes with;
A dummy,
a bottle,
a bib,
a nappy,
a cute silver pendant,
one outfit.

Key Features,
 babbles, giggles, sleeps, burps and wets, has lifelike facial movements.



Ru has named his baby George, after one of his other obsessions .... Peppa Pig.


He loves his baby George and takes him out in the garden and drives him about in his car.
He's stopped sharing him with the others, as its his baby and no one is allowed to touch.
He loves feeding him his bottle and giving him cuddles when he cries.

Ru found one of Alex's first baby-grows in my drawers and insisted he put it on his baby.
It's very strange to think Alex was far too small for that outfit when I first put it on his, but the doll fits it perfectly!


If you are unsure about buying a doll for your little boy, just let toys be toys and let your kid have fun!

You can buy Baby Annabell's Brother from Toys R Us for £54.99

For more information, visit www.baby-annabell.co.uk
Like on Facebook /zapfcreationUK and follow on twitter @ZapfCreationUK